Press

Univision Deportes Breaks Glass Ceiling on U.S. Hispanic Television with First Soccer Match Called by a Woman

By Univision PR Team

Mar 8, 2018

Sportscaster Iris Cisneros Joins Broadcast Team and Debuts with Liga MX Match América vs. León on Saturday, March 10

Univision Deportes Celebrates International Women’s Day and the Power of Women in Sports with Special Guests, Unique Tributes and Original Content on Gender Equality

WHAT:

Highlighting the role of women in sports media and sending a message of empowerment, Univision Deportes will broadcast the first soccer match called by a woman in U.S. Spanish-language television. Mexican sportscaster Iris Cisneros, who recently joined the Univision Deportes roster of talent, alongside renowned TV host Pablo Ramírez, will broadcast the Liga MX match between América and León, LIVE Saturday, March 10 at 10:00 p.m. ET (7:00 p.m. PT) on Univision and UDN.

Univision Deportes will also make history this week by featuring more women than ever covering a soccer match. For the first time, 11 women will take over coverage and production of the game. “Contacto Deportivo” co-host Ana Caty Hernández will provide commentary, reporter Cristina Romero will bring viewers closer to all the action from the pitch and behind-the-scenes; and an award-winning female production team will be directing, producing and assisting during this broadcast.

On Saturday, Univision Deportes female on-camera talent Karina Banda, Lindsay Casinelli, Iris Cisneros, Lupita Flores, Ana Caty Hernández, Karina Herrera, Nathalie Juarez, Adriana Monsalve, Cristina Romero and Lorena Troncoso will also send a special message to all women as part of Univision Deportes initiative #EllasTambiénJuegan.

Creating momentum for this milestone, Univision Deportes featured special segments throughout its programming this week. To honor top female athletes and highlight the fight for equality in sports, Contacto Deportivo interviewed Carli Lloyd, the two-time Olympic gold medalist and FIFA Women’s World Cup champion and Sofia Huerta, the first woman to play for both US women’s national soccer team and Mexico women’s national soccer team, while Locura Deportiva and Univision Deportes Fútbol Club presented the stories of Mexico women’s national soccer team players Charlyn Corral, Kenti Robles, and Monica Ocampo.

Other International Women’s Day programming includes:

  • Locura Deportiva: Interview with Cecilia Santiago, who was the youngest player-ever to take part in a men’s or women’s World Cup during the 2011 tournament (UDN).
  • Univision Deportes Fútbol Club: Interview with Norma Palafox, Mexican striker for Chivas Femenil (UDN).
  • Contacto Deportivo: Deyna Castellanos, a Venezuelan soccer star, will participate as a special guest throughout the show (Univision and UDN).

WHEN & WHERE:

THURSDAY, MARCH 8, 2018
Locura Deportiva: 6:00 p.m. ET/ 5:00 p.m. CT/ 3:00 p.m. PT, live on UDN
Univision Deportes Fútbol Club: 7:00 p.m. ET/ 6:00 p.m. CT/ 4:00 p.m. PT, live on UDN
Contacto Deportivo: 12:00 a.m. ET/ 11:00 p.m. CT/ 9:00 p.m. PT, live on Univision and UDN

SATURDAY, MARCH 10, 2018
América vs. León: 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. PT, live on Univision and UDN

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:
Fans can join the conversation via Twitter at @UnivisionSports as well as on Facebook.com/UnivisionDeportes and Instagram via @UnivisionDeportes, using the hashtag #EllasTambiénJuegan. All Clausura Liga MX games will be available via Univisiondeportes.com. Fans can also catch the games via the Univision Deportes app for which authentication is required (download for iOS and/or Android).

Visit corporate.univision.com/newco for more information about UCI and follow @UCIPRTeam on Twitter and Instagram.

CONTACT:  Tatiana Oviedo, 305.463.4614, toviedo@univision.net

***

Univision Deportes Rompe Barreras en la Televisión Hispana en Estados Unidos con el Primer Partido de fútbol Narrado por una Mujer

La locutora de deportes Iris Cisneros se une al equipo de difusión y debuta con el partido entre América y León de la Liga MX el sábado, 10 de marzo

Univision Deportes celebra el Día Internacional de la Mujer y el poder femenino en los deportes con invitadas especiales, tributos únicos y contenido original sobre la igualdad de género

QUÉ:
Para destacar el papel de la mujer en los medios dedicados al deporte y enviar un mensaje de empoderamiento, Univision Deportes trasmitirá el primer partido de fútbol narrado por una mujer en la televisión en español de Estados Unidos. La locutora de deportes mexicana Iris Cisneros, quien recientemente se incorporó al talentoso equipo de Univision Deportes, trasmitirá junto al renombrado conductor de televisión Pablo Ramírez el partido entre América y León de la Liga MX, EN VIVO, el sábado 10 de marzo a las 10:00 p.m. Este (7:00 p.m. Pacífico) por Univision y UDN.

Univision Deportes también hará historia esta semana al presentar a más mujeres que nunca en la cobertura del partido de fútbol. Por primera vez, 11 mujeres se harán cargo de la cobertura y producción del partido. Ana Caty Hernández, una de las conductoras de “Contacto Deportivo”, ofrecerá comentario, la reportera Cristina Romero les dará a los televidentes un vistazo de cerca a toda la acción desde la cancha, y detrás de cámaras un galardonado equipo femenino de producción dirigirá, producirá y asistirá durante la transmisión.

El sábado, las profesionales de Univision Deportes Karina Banda, Lindsay Casinelli, Iris Cisneros, Lupita Flores, Ana Caty Hernández, Karina Herrera, Nathalie Juárez, Adriana Monsalve, Cristina Romero y Lorena Troncoso también enviarán un mensaje especial a todas las mujeres como parte de la iniciativa #EllasTambiénJuegan de Univision Deportes.

Para promover este momento histórico, Univision Deportes presentó segmentos especiales en su programación esta semana. Para honrar a grandes deportistas y destacar la lucha por la igualdad en los deportes, Contacto Deportivo entrevistó a Carli Lloyd, ganadora de dos medallas olímpicas de oro y campeona de la Copa Mundial Femenina de la FIFA, y a Sofía Huerta, la primera mujer que ha jugado para la selección nacional femenina de fútbol de Estados Unidos y México, mientras que Locura Deportiva y Univision Deportes Fútbol Club presentaron historias sobre las jugadoras de la selección nacional mexicana Charlyn Corral, Kenti Robles y Mónica Ocampo.

La programación por el Día Internacional de la Mujer también incluye:

  • Locura Deportiva: Entrevista a Cecilia Santiago, la jugadora más joven en participar en una Copa Mundial femenina o masculina, en el torneo de 2011 (UDN).
  • Univision Deportes Fútbol Club: Entrevista a Norma Palafox, delantera mexicana de Chivas Femenil (UDN).
  • Contacto Deportivo: Deyna Castellanos, estrella venezolana del fútbol, quien participará como invitada especial durante todo el programa (Univision y UDN).

CUANDO Y DÓNDE:

JUEVES, 8 DE MARZO DE 2018
Locura Deportiva: 6:00 p.m. Este/ 5:00 p.m. Centro/ 3:00 p.m. Pacífico, en vivo por UDN.
Univision Deportes Fútbol Club: 7:00 p.m. Este/ 6:00 p.m. Centro/ 4:00 p.m. Pacífico, en vivo por UDN.
Contacto Deportivo: 12:00 a.m. Este/ 11:00 p.m. Centro/ 9:00 p.m. Pacífico, en vivo por Univision y UDN.

SÁBADO, 10 DE MARZO DE 2018
América vs. León: 10:00 p.m. Este/9:00 p.m. Centro/7:00 p.m. Pacífico, en vivo por Univision y UDN.

INFORMACIÓN ADICIONAL:
Los fans pueden participar en la conversación vía Twitter en @UnivisionSports, como también en Facebook.com/UnivisionDeportes e Instagram vía @UnivisionDeportes, usando el hashtag #EllasTambiénJuegan. Todos los partidos de Clausura de la Liga MX están disponibles vía Univisiondeportes.com. Los fans también pueden ver los partidos vía la aplicación de Univision Deportes, para la que se requiere autenticación. (Descárguenla para iOS o Android).

Visiten corporate.univision.com/newco para más información acerca de UCI y sigan @UCIPRTeam en Twitter e Instagram.

CONTACTO: Tatiana Oviedo, 305.463.4614, toviedo@univision.net

Related Articles

Press

TelevisaUnivision: la favorita de la afición mexicana para seguir a la Selección en el Mundial de Qatar

Press

ViX, TelevisaUnivision’s Groundbreaking Streamer, Named Apple TV App of The Year 2022

Please enter a valid e-mail address.
Sign me up for
Weekly Hispanic segment insights
Get the latest news from Univision
The latest from the Univision Sports team
Learn from our experts on Hispanic consumers

Thank you, you'll be receiving newsletter updates from us in your email inbox.

Loading